HomeThe Premise |  The Minds Behind the Fiction |    

InterviewsAndy Frankham-Allen & Shaun Russell  | Hannah Haisman  | Simon Williams | David A McIntee |

The Premise:

Lethbridge-Stewart is a new series of novels set after the 1968 Doctor Who serial The Web of Fear, and based on the characters and concepts created by Mervyn Haisman & Henry Lincoln. The series is published by Candy Jar Books, and fully licensed by the executor of the Haisman Literary Estate, Hannah Haisman, and endorsed by Henry Lincoln.

It is primarily centered around the characters of Alistair Lethbridge-Stewart, who was at the time of The Web of Fear a colonel in the Scots Guards, and Anne Travers (also introduced in The Web of Fear), and is set during the four-year gap between that serial and The Invasion, which saw Lethbridge-Stewart reunited with the Doctor and promoted to brigadier and head of the UK branch of UNIT.  

The character continued in Doctor Who as a semi-regular from 1970 to 1975, and made many return appearances throughout Doctor Who‘s history, even beyond his death in 2011 when he was resurrected last year in Death in Heaven as a Cyberman.

He is probably the most well-known character next to the Doctor, and a bona-fide legend of the Doctor Who universe. And yet, despite almost forty-eight years, the story of how he came to be leader of UNIT has never been revealed. Until now…